Current track



Current show

Landoo Boomin

2:00 pm 6:00 pm

Current show

Landoo Boomin

2:00 pm 6:00 pm

Lizzo, Cardi B and Verzuz co-creators among the list of 2020 Webby Award Winners

Written by on May 19, 2020

ABC/Image Group LALizzoCardi BLeBron JamesLil Nas X and talk show host Trevor Noah are among the winners at this year’s Webby Awards ceremony.

The 24th annual Webby Awards will host a virtual celebration amid the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic with “WFH: Webbys From Home,” today at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT.

This year’s event is dedicated to individuals and organizations using the internet in response to COVID-19. 

The show will be honoring Webby Special Achievement winners, who have been “uplifting communities through music, entertainment, and comedy, connecting volunteers with the most vulnerable or sick, celebrating essential workers, and informing and educating the world during a time when accuracy is needed most,” according to a press release.

The Webby Special Achievement winners include Webby Artist of the Year DJ D-Nice, who has been keeping audiences entertained at home with his #ClubQuarantine sets on Instagram Live, and Verzuz co-creators Swizz Beats and Timbaland, who have been celebrating legendary artists, producers, and songwriters with their online Verzuz battles during the pandemic. 

Other highlights include Rihanna‘s Fenty Beauty, which won the People’s Voice Award for Fashion & Beauty. The Houseparty App will receive the Webby Breakout of the Year Award, for keeping people connected even when they are physically apart.

DJ D-Nice will host the official Webbys after-party on Instagram Live, tonight at 8 p.m. ET.

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

This site uses Antispam to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.